Herod Farm Fell Race

This is an A Short category fell race, minimum age 14 years.

Race Registration is at the Reliance Garage on Turnlee Road, Glossop (GR 028934) from 6.15pm. This is about half a mile along the road from the start of the race, so allow time to get to the start line. Registration will close at 7:15pm. There is limited parking at Reliance Garage and also limited parking in Primrose Lane and surrounding streets. Please car share and show consideration to local residents when parking. There are toilet facilities at Registration.

Entry on the day only.

The race route is mostly off road and covers narrow paths and uneven terrain, with steep, grassy climbs and descents. The course will be partially marked with flags and will be marshalled at key points; however competitors should have the necessary navigational skills to find their way around the course in the prevailing conditions, in expectation of no support. All competitors have primary responsibility for their own safety. The race starts from a track (GR SK033937) off Primrose Lane (A6016), near the junction with the A624 Glossop to Hayfield road, and continues through Herod Farm nearly to the top of Monks Road, from where it descends along rough paths to Simmondley. After dashing through fields past the Pennine View Nursing Home the race begins in earnest, climbing up the face of the “Nab”. Finally, athletes retrace their route back down via the farm track to the finish.

You can see the race map here.

The race was first held in 1989 and the race winner for five years was Andy Trigg. The men’s and ladies course records were both broken in 2007 by Lloyd Taggart and Natalie White. The 2014 winners were Simon Harding and Caitlin Rice, both winning again in 2015.

Each year the 1st lady receives the Stella Judd Memorial Shield. This trophy was presented to the club by Andy Wilkins in memory of his wife Stella, who was once also a keen runner, but who died in 2005. In the past 5 years the winners have been Lucy Harris (2011), Judith Jepson (2012), Zoe Barton (2013), and Caitlin Rice (2014 & 2015).